Archive for February 11, 2012

Kiwanis Club Awards $41,000 in Scholarships

February 11, 2012 Leave a comment
Abe Lincoln Award Recipients

Abe Lincoln Award Recipients. See below for photo caption.

By Austin Greene
Kiwanis Club of Indianapolis

The Downtown Kiwanis Club of Indianapolis honored 25 area high school seniors who have overcome significant obstacles in their lives and presented $41,000 in scholarships to four candidates at its 37th annual Abe Lincoln Scholarship Awards banquet on Feb. 10, 2012, at the Sheraton City Centre.

The four scholarship recipients are:

  • First-place recipient – Tyler Bedell Kniess, Arsenal Technical High School
  • Second-place recipient – Ashlyn Bridgewater, Southport High School
  • Third-place recipient – Kayla Kirkpatrick, Roncalli High School
  • Fourth-place recipient – David Lee Dunn, Lawrence Central High School

Steve Willem, chairman of the Abe Lincoln Scholarship Awards committee served as master of ceremonies of the awards program.  The following Kiwanians presented the scholarship award recipients: Ron Deremiah, Scott Harkness, Diane Nichols, and Rebecca Seifert.

Anne Ryder, television journalist and Emmy Award winner, served as guest interviewer.

Circle of Valor awards were presented to 25 candidates, each representing an area high school.  Candidates were nominated by their high schools for the scholarships because of their achievements in the face of daunting obstacles.

“Our scholarships are not ‘need’ scholarships,” explained Steve Willem, chairman of the Abe  Lincoln Scholarship Awards committee.  “They are ’recognition’ scholarships. . . We honored and recognized these 25 students who have proven, despite overwhelming personal difficulties, that they can and will succeed.”

The Abe Lincoln Scholarship program has three goals: (1) public recognition for each nominee and his/her accomplishments; (2) special recognition for four nominees in the form of significant scholarship funds; (3) delivery of the public message to other young people struggling with difficulties that there are people within the community who care, recognize and encourage them to work toward success.

For more information on the Downtown Kiwanis Club, see

Photo caption: The four Abe Lincoln Scholarship Awards recipients with Steve Willem, Chair of the Abe Lincoln Scholarship Awards program, Pat McCrory, President of the Kiwanis Club of Indianapolis, and Anne Ryder, guest interviewer.  From left to right:  Pat McCrory, 4th place recipient David Lee Dunn (Lawrence Central High School), 3rd place recipient Kayla Kirkpatrick (Roncalli High School), Steve Willem, 2nd place recipient Ashlyn Bridgewater (Southport High School),  first-place recipient Tyler Bedell Kniess (Arsenal Technical High School), and Anne Ryder.