Home > food, Indiana, Indianapolis, Indy, restaurants, reviews, things to do > A Visit to Seasons 52 Fresh Grill

A Visit to Seasons 52 Fresh Grill

Seasons 52 Fresh Grill

Seasons 52 Fresh Grill. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2012, all rights reserved.

By Bob Burchfield, Editor
AroundIndy.com, LLC
http://aroundindy.com/index.php

Earlier this week I was invited to the PR event for bloggers and media representatives at Seasons 52 Fresh Grill, 8650 Keystone Crossing, Indianapolis, Indiana. Seasons 52 conducts these events periodically to publicize their seasonal menus. This was my second such visit to Seasons 52, and it proved to be as relishing and succulent as the first.

I can’t state it any more plainly than this: I love to visit Seasons 52, and I assure you that I would say the same thing even if they hadn’t twice picked up the tab for my visits. In fact, I took my wife there for our anniversary last year and found the level of service and the quality of the food to be identical to what we experienced at these special media events.

The reason Seasons 52 garners my high praise is because it appeals to my senses. It is upscale to be sure, but it is tastefully decorated without being stuffy or ostentatious. The combination of the rich wood and stone interior design, along with the live piano music playing constantly in the background, creates a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere that I find warm, inviting, and cordial. Here’s a photo I took last year during a visit:

Inside Seasons 52 Fresh Grill.

Inside Seasons 52 Fresh Grill. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2011, all rights reserved.

To me it just strikes an ideal balance between burgers/fries on the one hand and the most expensive steakhouses in downtown Indianapolis on the other. It’s not a cheap date, but it’s not intended to be. It’s not two for $20, but it’s not two for $250, either. And it’s not blue jeans and t-shirts, nor is it tuxedos or formal wear. As I surveyed the restaurant this week, it occurred to me that the full house on a Tuesday evening was made up mostly of those in the 30-50 age range.

On this occasion, we were there to experience the Summer Menu Launch, presented by Managing Partner Barbara Rafalowski and Executive Chef Partner Bill Erath, two of the several co-owners of the restaurant, along with knowledgeable and attentive staff members Abbey, Devon, and Elaine. You can tell that they take their personal stake in this restaurant very seriously and are committed to presenting and offering a fine dining experience with conscientious and helpful service. The entire staff delivered.

From the BBQ Chicken Flatbread at the cocktail reception to the 11-ounce Piedmontese Strip Steak, this four-course meal was impeccable in its presentation, quality, and wine pairings. This is the Chilled Lobster and Shrimp Spring Roll, presented with a sauce trio of cool salsa verde, aromatic lemongrass, and sweet-hot red chili:

Chilled Lobster and Shrimp Spring Roll

Chilled Lobster and Shrimp Spring Roll. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2012, all rights reserved.

Here’s that Piedmontese All-Natural Bone-In Strip Steak with cremini mushrooms, along with fingerling potatoes, roasted asparagus, corn risotto, roasted pepper, and a smaller serving of the Copper River Salmon. What a lovely presentation and what a fine summer meal!

Piedmontese Strip Steak

Piedmontese Strip Steak. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2012, all rights reserved.

I’m pretty finicky when it comes to fish. I don’t hate fish, I would just typically rather have something else. So when I saw Wild Alaskan Copper River Salmon on the menu, I was apprehensive. My fears couldn’t have been more baseless. The combination of the lemon and dill sauce blended perfectly with the salmon, and the accompanying fresh asparagus and roasted pepper was an ideal complement to the entree. No fishy taste at all, which I truly detest. Just flaky, fall-apart-in-your-mouth salmon that cannot be properly quantified in these words alone. Delicious:

Wild Alaskan Copper River Salmon

Wild Alaskan Copper River Salmon. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2012, all rights reserved.

I’m no wine connoisseur, I’m an events reporter, as those of you familiar with our Web site well know, so to even attempt such a review is way out of my league. I really can’t do justice to a fair analysis of the wine pairings. If I have wine at all, which is rare, it’s a sweet red wine (I’m partial to the Sweet Aubergine at Chateau Thomas Winery, if that tells you anything. Why? Because it tastes good.). I don’t know anything about wine pairings at all. But I can tell you this: Master Sommelier George Miliotis, one of a handful of master sommeliers worldwide, greeted our group via webcast and explained why he had chosen each pairing–and how each entree goes together with each pairing. And when he was done, I understood a concept that I’ve not previously grasped: how the food and the wine blend together in each course to create a pleasant and palatable dining experience.

So while you’re probably thinking to yourself, “He only said something nice because they picked up the tab,” I can assure you that the atmosphere, quality, service, and attention to detail is top drawer all the way, and so I can heartily recommend a visit to Seasons 52 Fresh Grill without any reservation whatsoever.

If you’d like to see more of my photos from these visits, check out our Seasons 52 Web page on AroundIndy.com: http://aroundindy.com/seasons52.php. For more information directly from the restaurant, visit http://www.seasons52.com/, or call 317-846-5252. Seasons 52 is located directly west of Sullivan’s Steakhouse, and directly across the parking lot from the west entrance to the Fashion Mall. Generally walk-in seating is available, but reservations are always a good thing. If you’ve visited Seasons 52, or if you do as a result of reading this review, I hope you’ll post a comment herein. I’d like to know if my experience is typical or unique.

DISCLOSURE NOTICE: Seasons 52 has twice picked up my tab during media visits in February 2011 and June 2012.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

