Archive for September 21, 2012

Auto Racing at Anderson Speedway, Sept. 22

September 21, 2012 Leave a comment
Anderson Speedway

Anderson Speedway. staff photo, (c) 2012, all rights reserved.

Press Release
Anderson Speedway

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 22, 2012, with the Ed Martin Auto Group Season Championships. Featured divisions include McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, EDCO Welding Street Stocks along with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

In the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, Josh Poore holds a 68 point margin over Brandon Phillips in the point standings. Third is Ronnie Rose with Rob Allman and Fred Hopkins completing the top five.

Jimmy Kirby sits atop the EDCO Welding Street Stock point standings. The Indianapolis competitor earned the CRA Street Stock victory last weekend to continue his impressive season. Second is Tyler Marsh with Josh Myers ranked in third spot. Rickie Tharp and Frankie Oakes round out the top five.

Earning a weekend sweep, Ron Phipps extended his points lead in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval point standings. Other strong season performances have been turned in by Paul Phipps, Trevin Henson and Marshall Clark Jr.

In the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Figure 8’s, Mike Alley paces the division with Donnie Ellis Jr. listed in the second position. Third is most recent feature winner Kevin Henson with Harry Lashure ranked in fourth spot.

On Saturday, September 22, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8, weather permitting. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free. Visit Culver’s of Anderson and get your $3 Discount Adult Admission Coupon Today.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at 765-642-0206.