Home > farmers markets, farms, Indiana, markets, things to do, tourism > The Big Peach Farm Market in Knox County, Indiana

The Big Peach Farm Market in Knox County, Indiana

The Big Peach Farm Market

The Big Peach Farm Market in Knox County, Indiana.

By Bob Burchfield, Editor
AroundIndy.com, LLC
http://aroundindy.com/

The Big Peach gets its name honestly!

The Big Peach gets its name honestly!

When I was a youngster back in the dark ages, we used to make a few trips annually to Evansville, Indiana, because my brother was a student at the University of Evansville (and later my sister and I would enroll there, too). Back then it was more than a four-hour drive from home, so we always looked for good places to stop along the way. We found a great one!

The Big Peach is an Amish farm market on US Highway 41 about 6-7 miles north of Vincennes, Indiana, in Knox County. I love to stop there each summer for the wonderful fresh produce, the gorgeous peaches, the best peach preserves you will ever taste, and a huge variety of products and gifts. With no disrespect to anyone else, THIS is my favorite farm market in Indiana, and has been for about FIVE decades now.

It only takes one visit to get you hooked on this place. As soon as we would get on Highway 41 south of Sullivan, the kids in the car would start looking for that giant peach and corn cob that marks the spot of The Big Peach. Hard to miss, for sure (as you can see in the photo above), but the anticipation in our vehicle was palpable.

There’s just something about stepping into this market that is an immediate throwback to my childhood. It conjures up all the memories of days gone by when our family was still together as a family and our parents were still living. In some ways nothing has changed at The Big Peach over the years, and I like it that way. In other ways it quietly keeps up with the times with items like Chicago Cubs and Indianapolis Colts souvenirs and gifts.

Inside The Big Peach Farm Market

Inside The Big Peach Farm Market.

So as you may have guessed by now, I stopped by for my annual visit last Friday. And even though I was traveling alone on this occasion instead of with a vehicle full of family, the same rush of memories came flooding back into my head. In particular, my mother simply loved this place. We about had to drag her out to the car once she got inside, because she didn’t want to leave. She would have wandered back and forth around that little market for hours if she could. She was particularly fond of their beautiful tomatoes, fresh corn, and the melons.

In my mind, the peach preserves at The Big Peach are simply the best you will ever taste. And I don’t understand why you can’t buy peaches or tomatoes this good at your local grocery store. Maybe I’m not looking in the right places, but I simply have to make a trip to Knox County every summer for the peaches, the experience, and the nostalgia.

On this occasion I had more travel plans and visits for the day that would have meant any fresh produce would be stuck in my hot car for several hours, so I simply brought home a few jars of the delicious peach preserves. It probably won’t surprise anyone, therefore, to learn that peaches are absolutely my favorite fruit, in whatever form they may take, from Snapple Peach iced tea to my sister-in-law’s incredible Cream Cheese Peach Pie to the wonderful fresh peaches at The Big Peach.

I’m confident that many Hoosiers who live in Knox County or southwestern Indiana can attest to what I have said herein. If you’ve never experienced a visit to this rural farm market, I hope you get the chance someday soon. In my humble opinion, The Big Peach is one of the best reasons to take Highway 41 to Evansville instead of I-69.

The Big Peach is located at 7738 North US Highway 41, officially with a Bruceville, Indiana address, I think. The market is open daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. from May to October. To the best of my knowledge, there is no Web site for The Big Peach, but for more information, you can call 812-324-2548. The Vincennes/Knox County CVB has a page on their Web site with an overview of The Big Peach: http://www.vincennescvb.org/attractions/1/agritourism/75/the-big-peach.

Peach Preserves at The Big Peach.

Peach Preserves at The Big Peach.

ABOVE: All photos (c) 2013, AroundIndy.com, LLC. All rights reserved.

  1. Paul Seals
    August 7, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Just recently bought a watermelon at your market, it was not ripe. Will not come back again.

    • August 7, 2013 at 12:21 pm

      When I was a boy, my mom taught me to pick up a few melons, tap on each with a knuckle, and listen to determine which sounds the most hollow. That’s the one that is the most ripe of the group. Haven’t done that for a long time, but I suppose it’s still true? Anyone have other tips to determine when a melon is ripe short of cutting it open?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

