Archive for August 5, 2013

Huber’s Winery Wins ‘Wine of the Year’ at Purdue University

August 5, 2013 Leave a comment
Indy International Wine Competition Winner

Dana Huber of Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards,
Starlight, Indiana, poses with the International Trophy.

By Sally Bonneau
On behalf of the Indiana Wine Grape Council

For the second consecutive year, an Indiana wine has topped over 2,300 entries from across the nation and around the world to win “Wine of the Year” honors at the prestigious Indy International Wine Competition.

Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards, Starlight, IN received the coveted Wine of the Year award for their 2012 Vignoles. Wineries worldwide shipped their finest to West Lafayette for “The INDY,” the nation’s largest scientifically organized and independent wine competition. “The INDY” took place July 31 through August 2 at Purdue University.

Wines from 39 states and 14 countries, including France, Australia, Chile, and Greece, were judged on appearance, aroma, taste, and aftertaste by 44 international judges, in a “blind” format.

White Wine of the Year honors also went to an Indiana winery – Indianapolis’ Easley Winery – for their Traminette. Italian Winery Tedschi won Red Wine of the Year for their 2008 Amarone Cassico. Rosé Wine of the Year was awarded to Eagles Landing Winery of Marquette, IA for their Volga Lake Blush.

The Sparkling Wine of the Year was won by Gloria Ferrer Caves & Vineyards of Sonoma, CA for their Sonoma Brute, and Gehringer Brothers Estate Winery of British Columbia, Canada took Dessert Wine of the Year honors for their 2012 Reisling Ice Wine.

Von Jakob Vineyard of Pomona, IL won Fruit Wine of the Year for their 2012 Streakin’ Johnny. Two categories – Honey Wine of the Year and Honey Wine Blend of the Year – both were awarded to Oliver Winery of Bloomington, IN for their Camelot Mead and Strawberry Honey Wine, respectively.

Gloria Ferrer Caves & Vineyards of Sonoma, CA was awarded the Winery of the Year Trophy. The trophy honors the Best International Brand of the entire competition.

Maryhill Winery of Washington State won the Winemaker of the Year Trophy, honoring the winery that receives the most gold medals by brand at the competition.

The Indy International Wine Competition has been organized by the Purdue Wine Grape Team since 1992, and under the leadership of Professor of Enology Christian Butzke for the past seven years. “The INDY’s 44 international wine judges truly represent the ever-changing palate of the American public,” said Dr. Butzke. “By giving consumers advice on more than 2000 new wines from 14 countries, they recognize the incredible diversity and creativity of our local and international winemakers, and the vibrant state of the global wine industry.

“Wine has become the coolest and most dynamic beverage in the world, by far,” said Dr. Butzke.

Indiana was well represented in the competition, with Hoosier wineries winning 288 total medals. That includes 13 double gold, 31 gold, 114 silver, and 68 bronze medals.

“For an Indiana winery to win Wine of the Year is very exciting for our state’s wine industry,” said Jeanette Merritt, Marketing Director for the Purdue Wine Grape Team. “Indiana wines are outstanding and Huber’s not only showed that, but all of our wineries proved that by the number of medals won this year!”

Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards also won Indiana Winery of the Year, and the Governor’s Cup, recognizing the Indiana winery with the most wins. Indiana Wine of the Year was awarded to Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards for their 2006 Knobstone Port.

Country Heritage Winery of LaOtto, IN won Indiana Traminette of the Year, recognizing Indiana’s Signature Wine and Grape.

The Indy International Wine Competition has a special award division for Indiana-grown wines. A wine must be composed of more than 85 percent Indiana-grown fruit to be eligible. Satek Winery of Fremont, IN won both the Indiana-Grown American Wine of the Year and the Indiana-Grown French-American Wine categories for their Steuben and Larry’s Luscious Dry Red, respectively. McClure’s Orchard & Winery of Peru, IN won the Indiana-Grown Fruit Wine of the Year for their Ice Cider. Huber’s Orchard, Winery & Vineyards of Starlight won the Indiana-Grown Vinifera Wine of the Year for their 2010 Tannat.

For a list of all medal-winning wines, log on to

Editor’s Acknowledgement: BPS Marketing, Inc. Photo provided by BPS Marketing and used with written permission.