Home > colleges, events, Indiana, Indianapolis, Indy, sports, things to do, universities > Notes on NCAA Midwest Regional, Mar. 28/30

Notes on NCAA Midwest Regional, Mar. 28/30

Lucas Oil Stadium

Lucas Oil Stadium hosts NCAA Regional, Mar. 28 & 30.
AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2009, all rights reserved.

By John Dedman
Indiana Sports Corporation

2014 NCAA Men’s Basketball Midwest Regional
Lucas Oil Stadium; Indianapolis, Indiana
Friday, March 28 and Sunday, March 30, 2014

Notes on the upcoming Midwest Regional

All-session and single-session tickets for the Midwest Regional are available for purchase at www.NCAA.com/MBBtickets. The bracket was announced on Sunday night. Selected notes on teams that were assigned to the Midwest Regional and could potentially play in Indianapolis:

  • #1 seed Wichita State is the only remaining undefeated team (34-0).
  • #3 seed Duke and #4 seed Louisville advanced to play in the 2013 Midwest Regional in Indianapolis.
  • The Midwest Regional field includes three of the four Final Four teams from 2013 (Louisville, Wichita State and Michigan).
  • #2 seed Michigan played in Indianapolis Sunday, losing in the Big Ten Tournament championship game to Michigan State at Bankers Life Fieldhouse.
  • Three of the four first round games are included in the Midwest Regional (Cal Poly/Texas Southern, Iowa/Tennessee, NC State/Xavier).
  • Duke won NCAA Championships in Indianapolis at the 1991 and 2010 Final Fours (two of the six Men’s Final Fours hosted in Indianapolis).
  • Michigan’s roster includes six student-athletes from the state of Indiana.
  • Louisville has advanced to the last two Regionals in Indianapolis (2009 and 2013).
  • Louisville advanced to the 2013 Final Four by winning the 2013 Midwest Regional in Indianapolis.
  • #5 seed Saint Louis was also assigned to the Midwest Region in 2013, but did not advance to the Sweet 16 (#12 seed Oregon was the fourth team in the 2013 Midwest Region).
  • 2014 marks the first NCAA Tournament rounds held in Indianapolis since the 2006 Men’s Final Four that will not include Michigan State (2009 and 2013 Regionals, 2010 Men’s Final Four). Michigan State won the 2000 national title in Indianapolis.

For more information, visit http://indianasportscorp.org/


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: