Archive

Posts Tagged ‘Indiana Landmarks’

Logs to Lustrons @indianalandmark Tour in Porter County, May 13-14, 2017

March 22, 2017 1 comment
logs-to-lustrons-tour

The Gust Lindstrom site, one of the stops on the Logs to Lustrons tour.
Photo provided by the event organizers and used with written permission.

By Jen Thomas
On behalf of Indiana Landmarks

Logs to Lustrons Tour showcases Dunes landmarks;
May 13-14 tour showcases over a century of architecture.

Whether you’re captivated by rustic log cabins, love Victorian-era houses, or you’re mad for Mid-Century Modern, the Logs to Lustrons Tour in the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore will satisfy your interest. The tour, first offered last year, expands to two days in 2017: May 13 and 14, 2017.

The Logs to Lustrons Tour sponsored by Indiana Landmarks and the National Park Service features a dozen landmarks spanning over a century of architecture, including restored residences not normally open to the public and vacant landmarks in need of a new use. Eight interiors will be open for the tour.

For those who want a deeper immersion in the subject, the sponsors offer an illustrated talk, “Logs, Glass & Metal: A Century of Architectural Legacy” on the evening of May 12 preceding the tour. Speakers include: Todd Zeiger, Director, Indiana Landmarks’ Northern Regional Office; Judith Collins, Historical Architect, and Cliff Goins, Special Events Manager, both of the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore.

The May 13-14 tour includes the Bailly Homestead, a National Historic Landmark that dates back to 1822, when fur trapper Honore Gratien Joseph Bailly de Messein established a trading post. The site includes a collection of 19th century log and brick structures built by Bailly and his descendants.

Tour-goers will visit two Swedish landmarks, the Gust Lindstrom Site–restored and repurposed as an environmental education preschool—and the restored Oscar and Irene Nelson Site. Moving forward several decades, two Lustrons—prefabricated enameled steel houses—represent an enterprising response to solving the post-World War II housing crisis.

The tour also includes the House of Tomorrow, displayed at the 1933-34 Chicago World’s Fair and brought by barge to the Indiana Dunes after the fair. Declared a National Treasure by the National Trust for Historic Preservation, the endangered house will soon be restored by Indiana Landmarks. Architect-designed mid-century houses are also featured on the tour.

The timed-entry tour is $30 per person ($25 for Indiana Landmarks members) and includes shuttle transportation. Reservations may be made at logstolustronstour17.eventbrite.com or by calling 800-450-4534.

The talk, “Logs, Glass & Metal: A Century of Architectural Legacy,” takes place at the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore’s Portage Lakefront Pavilion, 1000 Riverwalk Drive, Portage, beginning at 7 p.m. CT, with a reception and light refreshments. The talk runs from 7:30-8:30 p.m., followed by more refreshments and Q&A session that concludes at 9 p.m. Tickets for the talk are $35 per person ($30 for Indiana Landmarks members), which includes admission to the tour on Saturday, May 13, or Sunday, May 14.

The Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore was established in 1966, after which the National Park Service acquired the historic structures within the park boundaries, including the 1933 Chicago World’s Fair Century of Progress homes, the Swedish landmarks, and others. Indiana Landmarks is working with the National Park Service to determine a long-term solution for four of the tour’s historic structures.

To save the five Century of Progress houses and several other places on the tour, Indiana Landmarks leased the structures from the National Park Service and subleased them to people who have rehabilitated them.

WHAT:
Logs to Lustrons Tour, showcases 12 sites spanning over a century of architecture in the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore

WHEN:
May 13-24, 2017 with tours leaving every 15 minutes from 8:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m., Central Time. The tour lasts approximately two hours. Visitors take the tour at their own pace, visiting or skipping sites as they choose. The “Logs, Glass & Metal: A Century of Architectural Legacy” talk takes place on the evening of May 12.

WHERE:
Tour shuttles depart from the Indiana Dunes Visitor Center, 1215 N State Road 49 in Porter. No parking is available at the tour sites. All guests must use the shuttles from the Visitor Center.

WHO:
Sponsored by Indiana Landmarks and the National Park Service

COST:
$30 per person ($25 for Indiana Landmarks members). Timed-entry tickets are available online at logstolustronstour17.eventbrite.com or by calling 800-450-4534.
Buy a ticket to the “Logs, Glass & Metal: A Century of Architectural Legacy” talk on May 12 at $35 per person ($30 per Indiana Landmarks member) and get a ticket to the tour on May 13 or 14.

Preservation Conference in Wabash, April 25-28, 2017 @indianalandmark

February 26, 2017 1 comment
honeywell-center-in-wabash

Honeywell Center in Wabash, Indiana.
AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2013, all rights reserved.

By Jen Thomas
On behalf of Indiana Landmarks Foundation

Just months after attracting a half-million-dollar prize, Wabash’s revitalized downtown is preparing to host Indiana’s annual gathering of preservationists, giving history buffs and members of the general public a glimpse behind the scenes of the city’s ongoing revitalization.

Drawn to the city by the award-winning downtown renewal, the April 25-28, 2017 “Preserving Historic Places” state preservation conference will include tours and workshops that showcase historic downtown Wabash buildings—some restored and some in process—including the restored Charley Creek Inn and commercial buildings repurposed as loft apartments.

State and national experts will lead educational sessions during the four days, and conference meals will be served in interesting historic locations, including one dinner held on a covered bridge in the nearby town of Roann.

The public is invited to attend the conference. An early bird registration discount applies to registrations received by March 10, 2017.

Known as the first electrically lit city in the world, Wabash in 2016 won by popular vote the $500,000 top prize in the national Small Business Revolution contest, created to shine a spotlight on the vital impact that small businesses have on our economy, our communities and our daily lives.

A related documentary series featured Robert Herjavec of Shark Tank helping transform six businesses in Wabash. Watch the videos at http://smallbusinessrevolution.org/main-street/season-one/.

One of two conference keynote speakers is Cameron Potts of Deluxe Corp., which sponsored the Small Business Revolution to showcase 100 small businesses as part of its 100th anniversary celebration.

The second conference keynoter is engineer and city planner Charles Marohn, founder of Strong Towns, a nonprofit that advocates for a model of development that allows cities, towns and neighborhoods to grow financially strong and resilient. The author of Thoughts on Building Strong Towns and A World Class Transportation System, Marohn hosts the popular Strong Towns podcast and is active on social media (see @StrongTowns on Twitter).

WHAT:
Preserving Historic Places conference

WHEN:
April 25-28, 2017

WHERE:
Honeywell Center, 275 W. Market St., Wabash, IN

COST:
$175 per person for all four day, with a discount for registration by March 10, 2017; $100 for students

REGISTER:
bit.ly/PHPWabash2017

WHO:
Preserving Historic Places conference is staged by Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology (DHPA), Indiana Landmarks, and Indiana University with support from INGUARD and Wabash Marketplace.

Indiana Landmarks Home Tour in Muncie, May 30, 2015

Indiana Landmarks Center

Indiana Landmarks Center. AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2014, all rights reserved.

By Jen Thomas
On behalf of Indiana Landmarks

Indiana Landmarks’ annual “Back to the Future: A Mid-Century Modern Home Tour” on May 30, 2015, will feature five standout homes on the north and west sides of Muncie, Indiana.

The homes, which were built between 1948 and 1972, exhibit classic mid-century features including open floor plans, expansive use of glass, natural materials, and integration with surrounding landscapes.

One of the five—the Graham House on Briar Avenue—remains in the original family, now owned by the son and daughter-in-law of the architect who built it for his family in 1948.

A 1972 house on the tour was designed for his family by Charles Sappenfield, the first and long-time dean of the Ball State University’s College of Architecture and Planning, now celebrating its 50th anniversary.

Mid-century homes opening for the May 30 Back to the Future tour include:
• Benham House (1950) owned by Steve Austin, 204 North Winthrop Road
• Sursa House (1963) owned by Sandra and Eric Damian Kelly, 3410 West University Avenue
• Graham House (1948), owned by Greg and Linda Graham, 1104 North Briar Avenue
• Sappenfield House (1972), owned by Melanie Schreiner, 2322 West Berwyn Road
• Fisk House (1972), owned by James and Nancy Morris, 2307 West Norwood Drive

In the driveway of each house, an automobile of a similar vintage will be displayed by Indiana Automotive, another affinity group of Indiana Landmarks. The cars range from a 1948 Lincoln Continental to a 1973 Ford Mustang.

The home tour runs from 1 to 6 p.m. on Saturday, May 30, 2015. Tickets are $15 in advance and $20 on the day of the tour.

Indiana Landmarks and its Indiana Modern affinity group, sponsors of the tour and lecture, work to protect Modernist buildings and foster appreciation for the landmarks of the era. Back to the Future tour is staged with support from Chilluffo Media and AXIS Architecture + Interiors, both of Indianapolis, and INGUARD, Muncie.

WHAT:
Back to the Future: A Mid-Century Modern Home Tour

WHEN:
Saturday, May 30, 1-6 p.m.

WHERE:
Five houses in Muncie. Day of tour ticket sales and shuttle service originates at Westminster Presbyterian Church, 2801 West Riverside Ave.

COST:
$15 per person in advance. Buy tickets in advance at Indiana Landmarks Center and Form+Function in Indianapolis or online atbttfhometour15.eventbrite.com.

$20 per person on May 30, 1-6 pm at tour headquarters, Westminster Presbyterian Church, 2801 West Riverside Ave., in Muncie, and at each tour home.

WHO:
Presented by Indiana Landmarks and its Indiana Modern affinity group.

For more information, call Indiana Landmarks, 317-639-4534 or visithttp://indianalandmarks.org/.

1904 Parry Mansion Open for Tours, June 28

Parry Mansion

Parry Mansion.
Photo provided by the event organizers and used with written permission.

By Jen Schmits Thomas
On behalf of Indiana Landmarks
http://indianalandmarks.org/

On June 28, 2014, the mansion that gave rise to the Golden Hill Historic District will open for a tour following a top-to-bottom restoration before the property goes on the market with a multi-million-dollar price tag.

Auto visionary David M. Parry built the house in 1904, one of the oldest structures in Golden Hill. Indiana Automotive Heritage, an affinity group of Indiana Landmarks, will stage the June 28 event at the 21,000-square-foot mansion restored by John and Eric Lethen of JERICO Properties.

David Parry made his fortune manufacturing carriages, owning one of the world’s largest carriage factories in the 1890s before he branched into automobiles. Beginning in 1907, he owned or was a partner or investor in companies that produced the Parry, the Overland, and the Pathfinder.

Parry called his estate Golden Hill. In 1916, his family divided the vast property into building lots and used the same name for the residential development. The Parry Mansion, 3650 Spring Hollow Road, was purchased in 1927 by William A. Atkins, an industrialist and owner of the Severin Hotel, whose family owned the property until the 1960s. Atkins altered and enlarged the house to its present size.

The vacant and neglected mansion’s fate was a concern to neighbors and Indiana Landmarks until John Lethen of Jerico Properties bought the 4.5-acre property in 2012. “John Lethen is an experienced restorer of historic homes, and we’re glad he rescued the Parry Mansion,” says Marsh Davis, president of Indiana Landmarks. “He saved and repaired the original features, and at the same time he updated the kitchen, bathrooms and systems to meet the needs of modern living. For example, any cook would love to have a kitchen like one in the Parry Mansion.”

The Golden Hill Historic District, listed in the National Register of Historic Places, is located just south of Woodstock Club and the Indianapolis Museum of Art, just west of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Street. The elevated Parry Mansion site overlooks the Central Canal and White River.

Indiana Automotive Heritage hosts the exclusive tour on June 28. The self-guided tour includes all three stories of the 21,000-square-foot structure, which is filled with carved wood, marble, and stone fireplaces, beautiful woodwork, window seats, balconies, three rooftop terraces, and rooms with views through leaded-glass windows. Light refreshments will be served.

The event benefits the Indiana Automotive Heritage affinity group. Tickets to the event, held from 3 to 6 p.m., are $40 per person, with discounts for members of Indiana Automotive Heritage and Indiana Landmarks. Tickets must be purchased in advance online at parrytour.eventbrite.com or by calling Indiana Landmarks, 317-639-4534.

WHAT:
Parry Mansion Tour

WHEN:
3 p.m. to 6 p.m., June 28

WHERE:
3650 Spring Hollow Road, Indianapolis

COST:
Advance sale only: $40 per person; $25 per Indiana Automotive Heritage member; $30 per Indiana Landmarks member

RSVP:
Advance ticket purchase required at parrytour.eventbrite.com or by calling Indiana Landmarks, 317-639-4534

INFO:
www.IndianaLandmarks.org

Indiana Landmarks revitalizes communities, reconnects us to our heritage, and saves meaningful places. With 8 offices located throughout the state, the non-profit organization helps people rescue endangered landmarks and restore historic neighborhoods and downtowns. People who join Indiana Landmarks receive its bimonthly magazine, Indiana Preservationist. For more information, call 317-639-4534, 800-450-4534, or visit www.indianalandmarks.org.

Editor’s Acknowledgement: JTPR, Inc.

‘Wine Down on the Farm’ in Cambridge City, Sept. 19

September 6, 2013 Leave a comment
Huddleston Farmhouse in Cambridge City, Indiana

Huddleston Farmhouse in Cambridge City, Indiana.
AroundIndy.com staff photo, (c) 2013, all rights reserved.

By Jen Schmits Thomas
On behalf of Indiana Landmarks
http://indianalandmarks.org/

On September 19, 2013, Huddleston Farmhouse in Cambridge City hosts an event that blends wine, live music, art and a locally-sourced harvest spread.

“It’s a priority for us that the dinner uses fresh ingredients from farms in Wayne County and nearby,” said JP Hall, director of Indiana Landmarks’ eastern office
located at the Huddleston site on the historic National Road. “We hold a weekly Saturday farmers market at the property, and we want the meal to reflect our
dedication to local growers.”

At Wine Down on the Farm, artists from the Indiana Plein Air Painters Association (IPAPA) and the Richmond Art Group will be creating paintings available for purchase on the grounds of the c.1841 farmstead. Important historic works from the Richmond Art Museum collection will be on display in the farmhouse. The event takes place from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m.

For the harvest supper, Chef Jen Ferrell will rely on local sources for her smoked pork chops and the herbs, vegetables and cheese featured in her Dijon and dill
potato salad, black bean and corn salad, blue cheese and cabbage slaw, and homemade bread. Dessert will be an ice cream sundae bar with fresh fruits and sauces—all locally sourced as well.

Many of the plein air artists at the event have works featured in the newly released coffee-table book, Painting Indiana III: Heritage of Place, which will be available
for purchase. The book resulted from a partnership of IPAPA, Indiana Landmarks and I.U. Press.

Indiana Landmarks’ Huddleston Farmhouse operates as the National Road Heritage Site with exhibits offering a picture of travel along the byway from pioneer era to the present. The historic farm complex is located on the west edge of Cambridge City, 17 miles west of Richmond and 50 miles east of Indianapolis.

Wine Down on the Farm! is $50 per person ($35 for members of Indiana Landmarks) and must be purchased in advance online at http://winedown2013.eventbrite.com/ or through Indiana Landmarks’ Eastern Regional Office, 765-478-3172, east@indianalandmarks.org.

WHAT:
Wine Down on the Farm!

WHEN:
Thursday, September 19, 2013, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

WHERE:
Huddleston Farmhouse, 838 National Road, Cambridge City, Indiana

COST:
$50 per person ($35 for Indiana Landmarks members)

TICKETS:
Online at http://winedown2013.eventbrite.com/ or call Indiana Landmarks, 765-478-3172

MORE INFO:
Visit http://www.indianalandmarks.org/

Editor’s Acknowledgement: JTPR, Inc.